What is data rollover? Explained
Data can be expensive, particularly when you are charged outside of your regular allowance. It can be easy for your bill to add up, given the premium networks can charge for each MB consumed.
Some networks will allow you to carry on any unused data to the next month - also known as data rollover. The unused data will be added to your regular data allowance.
- How does data rollover work?
- Is data rollover free?
- How can I find out how much data is rolled over?
- Which networks offer data rollover?
How does data rollover work?
Data rollover works by moving any unused data from your regular allowance to your next month.
The data is added on top of your regular allowance for free.
For example, if your allowance gives you 15GB of data per month, and you only used 5GB for a particular month, then the remaining 10GB will be rolled over to the next month - giving you a total of 25GB data to use.
You must be on an eligible network and plan for data rollover to work.
With most networks, data that has been rolled over can only be rolled over once and not for consecutive months.
Your network will automatically calculate the amount that will be rolled over for you.
Is data rollover free?
Yes, data rollover if free if your network and plan are eligible.
How can I find out how much data is rolled over?
When data is rolled over, you will usually be sent a text message from your network. You can also find out how much data in rolled over by checking yourself:
- Logging into your account with your next
- Opening your network’s app
Which networks offer data rollover?
Not every network and plan offer data rollover.
Furthermore, each network will have slightly different terms on how data rollover works.
EE data rollover
Data rollover with EE is available to all pay as you go and Flex plan customers.
Any data from your 30 day pay as you go pack or Flex plan will be rolled over to the next month.
For your data to roll over, you must buy a pack or renew your plan within 7 days of the previous coming to an end. If you take longer than 7 days, the remaining data will be lost.
Any ‘Free Boosts’ that you are eligible for will also count towards data rollover.
To check how much data is rolled over with EE:
- Check the My EE app
- Login online to your My EE account
- Text AL to 150 for free
- Text ROLLOVER to 150 for free
iD Mobile data rollover
Data rollover with iD Mobile is available for all plans and customers.
Any remaining data with be rolled over to the next month. It can only be rolled over once.
It is free and completely automatic. You can also use your rolled over data when roaming within the EU, free of charge.
You can check how much data is rolled over:
- iD Mobile app
- Login to your iD Mobile account
O2 data rollover
Data rollover with O2 is only available to pay as you go customers who are on a Big Bundle. O2 currently does not offer data rollover for contract customers.
Unlike most networks, you can roll over unused data for consecutive months. However, the maximum amount you can rollover is double your Big Bundle allowance.
For example, if you have a Bug Bundle that gives you 7GB data, the maximum you can rollover is 14GB data.
If you increase or decrease your Big Bundle, any rolled over data will expire.
You can find out how much data is rolled over with:
- My O2 app
- My O2 account
Sky Mobile data rollover
Sky Mobile delivers the most generous data rollover offer with Sky Piggybank.
Any unused data will automatically be added to your Sky Piggybank as ‘data credit’. This includes any data with bonuses, boosts or add-ons.
You can use the data credit in your Sky Piggybank towards purchases:
- Top up your data
- Use it towards new phones, tablets and accessories
Data that is added must be used within 3 years before it expires.
There is no limit on the amount of data you can save, but you must have at least 1GB in your Sky Piggybank.
You can login to your Sky Piggybank account to check how much data you have rolled over and exchange it for purchases.
SMARTY data rollover
Data rollover with SMARTY is different from other networks.
Your data doesn’t roll over - instead your data is used in exchange for a discount on your next monthly bill.
However, only eligible data discount plans include data rollover, with a cap on the maximum discount you will receive.
- £6 1GB plan - maximum £1 discount
- £7 2GB plan - maximum £2 discount
- £8 3GB plan - maximum £2 discount
Up to the maximum discount, you will receive £0.001 for every MB of unused data, which is the same as £1 for 1GB of unused data.
You can check how much data is rolled and the discount you have received by logging in to your SMARTY account.
Virgin Mobile data rollover
Virgin Mobile offers data rollover for all customers. Any unused data will be rolled over to the next month. There is no limit on the amount of data that can be rolled over.
Data can only be rolled over once.
Any promotional or bonus data is excluded from data rollover.
You must have an active plan for data to rollover. If you do not have an active plan, any remaining data from the previous month will be lost.
To check how much data is rolled over:
- Virgin Mobile app
- Your Virgin Mobile account
Vodafone data rollover
Vodafone offers data rollover for pay as you go customers who have an active bundle. Vodafone currently do not offer data rollover for contract customers.
If you’re a pay as you go customer with an active bundle, any unused data will be carried onto the next month. Data can only be rolled over once before it expires.
Data that is rolled over will be used first, followed by your regular data allowance. This means you have more chance of data being rolled over every month.
If you renew your bundle early or switch to another bundle, your data will not rollover and will reset.
You can check how much data you have rolled over with Vodafone:
- Vodafone app
- Your Vodafone account
Which networks offer data rollover?
Data rollover is offered on the following networks. However, you must have a qualifying plan:
- iD Mobile
- Sky Mobile
- Virgin Mobile
Is data rollover free?
Yes, data rollover is free for eligible plans and networks.
When does rolled over data expire?
Usually, rolled over data will expire if you do not use it within the same month. However, Sky Mobile and O2 allow you to roll the same unused data for more than one month.